Stripping Down to Black and White

February 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm (Black and White Photography, Oregon, Photography) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I’m a color junkie.

I don’t do much black and white work.  I am one of those photographers drawn to color.  Very colorful images are kind of like fast-food for the vision; easy to consume without thinking too much about the quality of the work.

Although color can add to a good image, it can also mask flaws in not-so-great ones as well.  Stripping the color from an image can expose its flaws, leaving your eye to discern the raw elements of  the photograph:  composition, texture and tonal qualities are all laid bare, leaving you with the truth of the image.  

Truly great black and white images take forethought and planning, and an understanding of how reflected light will render tones without color.  Learning to “see” in black and white is kind of difficult for me, because I am so enamored with color, but as you can see by the images below, I am trying.

I am trying to step out of my comfort zone in several areas of my life.  It ‘aint easy folks.  Kind of like cutting your hair very short after decades of long locks.  There isn’t anything to hide behind anymore.

Here are my humble efforts.  Please be kind.

Cattle Chute against January Skies

Pioneer's Grave in Wheat Field

False-front

Dead Juniper at Snowy Pond

Door Detail in Old Grain Elevator

Columnar Basalt Reflections in Lake

Leave a Reply

