Mushrooms and Waterfalls

January 11, 2011 at 11:43 am (Landscape Photography, Oregon, Photography) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

It seems we are having colder than normal stretches of winter weather this year.  The cold I can (mostly) handle with insulated Carhart overalls, parka, Sorel boots and gloves.  It is inconvenient, especially when you have horses, because the water tanks tend to freeze solid after a while, and hauling buckets of boiling water to melt the ice so that they can drink gets pretty old by the middle of winter. (My horses don’t seem to like the tanks with the heaters in them.  I guess they want to see if I really care about them, and hauling water in sub-freezing temperatures is a pretty good litmus test for affection.)

It’s those seemingly endless gray days that really kind of grind on my nerves.  I shouldn’t complain I guess.  Could be worse.  I could live in Eugene instead of Central Oregon. 

Anyway, when the winter blahs start to hit I like to think about what I like about living in Central Oregon, and right at the top of my list is the beautiful scenery. 

Sahalie Falls in the Fall

In September, hubby and I took a short hike around Sahalie and Koosah Falls.  In addition to the breathtaking waterfalls, if you wander around the forest a bit you will be rewarded with a stunning variety of mushroom and other fungal life bejewling the ferny, mossy undercanopy in the evergreens.  We don’t harvest them, because we are not knowledgable enough to keep ourselves alive should these little beauties somehow make their way to our dinner table.  But we do like to photograph them.  The varieties in the Pacific Northwest are diverse and varied and the shapes, textures and colors are a delight to the eye.

Koosah Falls

Take the captions on the mushroom photos with a grain of salt, and PLEASE, DO NOT eat any mushrooms based upon these photographs, as their identification is my best guess.  Some mushrooms can only be identified with chemicals or microscopic examination.

Boletus Mirabilis

Common Puffball

 

Mycena haematopus cluster on a decaying log

 

Immature Armillaria (I think...)

Armillaria Ostoyae (again, I think...)

 

As yet unidentified. Maybe a Hypholoma?

 

Mycena haematopus - also called bleeding fairy helmet, burgundydrop bonnet, bloodfoot mushroom and bleeding Mycena

If I have made mistakes identifying these mushrooms, let me know and I will correct it.  In the meantime, if you are in the area, Sahalie and Koosah are well worth the effort to explore.

Sahalie Falls - The rainbow falls!

Leave a Reply

