Recycled Writing

June 30, 2010 at 11:08 am (Mahalo Writing, Writing) (, , , )

 

Well, I could smell it coming.  I began to grow suspicious when the link for open writing assignments mysteriously disappeared.  My Vertical Manager didn’t seem concerned though and continued to assign me writing assignments.  He should have worried.

Mahalo has redesigned their business model, at least as far as writers are concerned.  Come July 1, 2010, Mahalo will remove all of their page managers and vertical managers, and casual freelancing will become a thing of the past at Mahalo. 

What this means for the current page managers and vertical managers at Mahalo is that we will lose all of our Google AdSense revenue through Mahalo.  Luckily, the writers still own the rights to their previously published work at Mahalo, though the existing content on Mahalo is now out of reach as far as updating, etc.

I think Mahalo locked the articles down when they decided to renig… ah, err… proceed forward with their new business plan, worried that the writers would rebel and remove all of their content from Mahalo.  Yes, it did say in the old terms that the writers could remove their content.  The new terms are much different now though.  Anything you write on Mahalo becomes Mahalo’s intellectual property.  Interesting.

Don’t get me wrong… Mahalo is still hiring writers.  If you are willing and able to write 25 pages per week and update an additional 12 hours per week for $1000.00 per month, go ahead and apply.  I know that it took me longer than the suggested 1 hour per page, as I was very diligent in confirming my sources and finding accurate and reliable sources to cite (cited sources are required at Mahalo, even if you are writing from experience), so I know I would be spending much more than the minimum 37 to 40 hours per week to earn that glorious $232.00.  I also had more integrity than to simply regurgitate content already available on the Internet, which is what Mahalo encourages.  Submit pages quickly, SEO for clicks (even though it makes the page content awkward to read) and move on to the next.  I take more pride in my writing than Mahalo allows.  I hope it is not misplaced, because I do think I am a pretty good writer.

The pay wasn’t that great for writing content to begin with, but the allure was the ongoing revenue through Adsense, which they have since stripped from the writers.

Well, since I own my content, I might as well share it here.  I don’t have Google Adsense set up here, so I ain’t making’ a dime off of it, but it is good information.  I hope you can use it.

Remember, when you click on an ad on any Mahalo page, Mahalo is making the bucks (and lots of them), while the contributors that made Mahalo what it is are left out in the cold.  That would have been fine, if that had been what I signed up for, but I was clearly operating under the terms of service in place at the time.  I had expectations of making an ongoing incoming (small though it may have been) from the ongoing revenues.

What can I do but post my writing here for you to enjoy?  So get ready for some recycled writing.

2 Comments

  1. Windowshopping said,

    Here’s the thing: Mahalo doesn’t just own anything that you contribute from July 1, 2010 forward; Mahalo claims ownership of everything that you ever wrote/contributed on their site, including all contributions under the old TOS. If you re-create your pages elsewhere without giving Mahalo generous link-love, they hold that it is within their rights to accuse you of plagiarism and copyright infringement. None of your previous pages show any affiliation with you, anymore… so there is no way for you to prove that you are/were the original source.

    If you think this is unfair, I encourage you to look into this:
    There is a potential class action against Mahalo.com. If you’re interested in learning more or are interested in joining the class or if you have additional information you can give to the attorneys in this case, you can reach them here:

    Nicole Reynolds
    GREEN WELLING, P.C.
    Tel: (415) 477-6700
    Fax: (415) 477-6710
    http://www.classcounsel.com

    There is a blog about this here:
    http://blog.accentuateservices.com/2010/09/16/mahalo-com-potential-class-action-law-firm-retained/

    There is power in numbers. I am contacting the attorney to see if I qualify to take part in this action.

    • eponaleah said,

      Thanks for the information.

      Mahalo may want to make their new TOS retroative to affect people working under the old TOS, but it can’t. How can you enforce a contract retroactively? In order to have a contract you must have a meeting of minds, and if you do not have a meeting of minds, you have no contract.

      I can prove that I own all of the writing I ever provided Mahalo. I have the original files I created, plus I have screen captures of all my writing prior to Mahalo removing me as page manager. I would like to see them try to prove plagiarism and copyright infringement. I can prove otherwise.

      Having said all of that, this a class action lawsuit is probably a pretty good thing here. I wrote well over 100,000 words for Mahalo with the understanding that I would continue to own my own content, and I don’t intend to be stripped of it. It was alot of work and I am proud of it and am not willing to lose it to Mahalo’s greed.

      I appreciate the information you provided and I will check into it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

